Skip to main content

In the UK, education is compulsory for all children between the ages of 5 (4 in Northern Ireland) and 16.

In addition, the National Curriculum in England and Wales is constructed in five Key Stages:: 

1. Early years (under 5 year olds)

2. Primary education

  • Key Stage 1 - Foundation year and Years 1 to 2 - for pupils aged between 5 and 7 years old

  • Key Stage 2 - Years 3 to 6 - for pupils aged between 8 and 11 years old

3. Secondary education

  • Key Stage 3 - Years 7 to 9 - for pupils aged between 12 and 14 years old

  • Key Stage 4 - Years 10 to 11 - for pupils aged between 15 and 16 years old

4. Further Education (FE)

  • Key Stage 5 - Years 12 to 13 - for pupils aged between 17 and 18 years old

    5. Higher Education (HE)

    For more information and guidance on topics related to schools, education and learning, please explore the sections below:

    Choice of education

    Applying for a school place:
    School Admissions

    School performance

    School terms and holiday dates

    Breakfast and after school clubs

    Holiday clubs and playschemes

    Tax-Free Childcare

    Westminster libraries

    Resources to support
    children's learning at home

    School SEND Policies
    and information reports

    Fair Shot Cafe Virtual Open Day

    Fair Shot Cafe will be hosting its vitual open day for their 2023/2024 Traineeship Programme on 02/11/2022.  Join us…Read more

    Breakfast club at All Saints Church 19th-22nd Dec 2022

    ALL WELCOME! Please see details below:  Read more

    Early Years Conference - Friday 24th February 2023

    The Bi-borough Early Education and Childcare Service would like to invite you to the Early Years Conference: ‘EYFS…Read more