Skip to main content

In the UK, education is compulsory for all children between the ages of 5 (4 in Northern Ireland) and 16.

In addition, the National Curriculum in England and Wales is constructed in five Key Stages: 

1. Early years (under 5 year olds)

2. Primary education

  • Key Stage 1 - Foundation year and Years 1 to 2 - for pupils aged between 5 and 7 years old
  • Key Stage 2 - Years 3 to 6 - for pupils aged between 8 and 11 years old

3. Secondary education

  • Key Stage 3 - Years 7 to 9 - for pupils aged between 12 and 14 years old
  • Key Stage 4 - Years 10 to 11 - for pupils aged between 15 and 16 years old

4. Further Education (FE)

  • Key Stage 5 - Years 12 to 13 - for pupils aged between 17 and 18 years old

5. Higher Education (HE)

For more information and guidance on topics related to schools, education and learning, please explore the sections below:

Choice of education

Applying for a school place:
School Admissions

School performance

School terms and holiday dates

Breakfast and after school clubs

Holiday clubs and playschemes

Tax-Free Childcare

Kensington and Chelsea libraries

Resources to support
children's learning at home

School SEND Policies
and information reports

Delaying admission of
summer born children to reception

A location map of the local estate schools can be found below:

placeholder image

Get Your Free Flu Vaccine

There are a rising number of flu cases in children, sometimes these cases can be very serious. The free flu vaccine is…Read more

Are you aged 16 to 19* not in education, employment or training?

The Kensington and Chelsea Targetted Prevention Team (TPT) may be able to help. Find out more on the following…Read more

Early Years Educator apprenticeships (Skills for Life)

Spark children’s imaginations and make a difference to their development, while you earn as you learn. For further…Read more
rating button