Skip to main content

Youth Council

Young Mayor, Deputy Young Mayor and Member for Youth Parliament for Islington

Islington’s young leaders ready to promote the Youth Council’s new priorities

Islington’s new young leaders have been elected to the Youth Council and are ready to speak up for young people across the borough on the issues that matter to them most.

Honey Baker has become the new Young Mayor, Abubakar Finiin is taking the role of Deputy Young Mayor, and Isabella Wolday has been elected as the Member for Youth Parliament for Islington.

The trio were elected by their fellow youth councillors and will hold their posts for one year. During this time, they will be responsible for representing the Youth Council at regional young mayor and youth parliament meetings, as well as civic events and awards ceremonies.

Young Mayor Honey, who is the first youth councillor to be re-elected, said: 'I really wanted to be elected Young Mayor, so I’m so pleased to have got it. I’ve followed in the footsteps of Diana and Darey (the previous Young Mayor and Deputy Young Mayor) and so I feel prepared and ready to take it on'.

'I want to focus my time as Young Mayor on promoting sport and getting more coaches into schools. Sport is really important for giving young people opportunities.'

For the next two years, the Youth Council will work on four key priorities:


If you want more information about the Youth Council, please feel free to get in touch.