Integrated Care System (ICS)

Integrated care is about giving people the support they need, joined up across local councils, the NHS, and other partners. It removes traditional divisions between hospitals and family doctors, between physical and mental health, and between NHS and council services. In the past, these divisions have meant that too many people experienced disjointed care.

There are 42 Integrated Care Systems in England. County Durham is part of the North East and North Cumbria (NENC) Integrated Care System (ICS). This regional partnership between the NHS, local authorities and others, takes collective responsibility for resources, setting strategic objectives and care standards, and improving the health of the 3.1 million people it serves. The NHS Long Term Plan published in January 2019 sets out clear expectations for all Integrated Care Systems.

Our ICS brings together local authorities, NHS commissioners and providers, from across the North East and North Cumbria. The majority of our work is focused on places and neighbourhoods; but, alongside this, our ICS provides a mechanism to build consensus on those issues that need to be tackled at scale.

It is supported by four Integrated Care Partnerships (ICPs).

In County Durham, South Tyneside and Sunderland, NHS organisations have come together, working with local authorities, to lead and plan care for their population in a coordinated way as the Durham, South Tyneside and Sunderland Integrated Care Partnership (ICP).


North East and North Cumbria NHS

What is Integrated Care

Integrated Care explained

NHS join our Journey


Durham County Council's Families Information Service does not promote nor endorse the services advertised on this website. Anyone seeking to use/access such services does so at their own risk and may make all appropriate enquiries about fitness for purpose and suitability to meet their needs.
Powered by Open Objects