Skip to main content

Equality and Diversity

In this section you will find information relating to the nine ‘protected characteristics’ defined in the Equality Act 2010.  These are:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender Reassignment
  • Marriage and Civil Partnership
  • Pregnancy and Maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex (Gender)
  • Sexual Orientation

The Equality Act simplified, strengthened and harmonised the previous legislation to provide Britain with a new discrimination law to protect individuals from unfair treatment and promote a fair and more equal society.

If you cannot find what you are looking for, please contact the Cheshire West and Chester Council’s Equality and Diversity Team on: 01244 976008 or via email: or contact the Cheshire West Community Access Team on: 0300 123 7034 or via email:

Back to top